As with most things in Orthodoxy, there’s a history connected to the Holy Bible. A history that goes back to the very beginning of the Orthodox Church (of course).

Looking back on my Protestant past, I can say without a doubt that far too little attention was paid to the history of Old Testament in the Churches I attended. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying the contents of the Old Testament weren’t discussed or preached about. I’m saying that the history of how the Old Testament came to be always seemed a bit lacking.

Like most things, becoming Orthodox helped fill a lot of gaps historically regarding how the Old Testament came to be. I was surprised to learn a lot of things. Nevertheless, instead of my trying to reinvent the wheel, I’m going to strongly recommend you take a look at this excellent article by Daniel Lieuwen titled “Who Decides? Unraveling the Mystery of the Old Testament Canon” to help you understand my point. I’m willing to bet you’re going to learn something new. đŸ˜‰